Caterwauling Towards The Light Album by Dusty Wright

(1 customer review)


$7.99 (Member Price)

10 Songs.

Genre: Cinematic Americana.

Dusty receives all purchase proceeds.

Not a member? Become a member and provide Dusty with monthly support. Find out how here.



1. Fall Out of Line


2. Life is Hard


3. The Way We Left Our Hearts


4. All Revved Up


5. Weather This Storm


6. We Can Set Sail


7. How Do You Measure A Man?


8. I Got Lost


9. I Am Not Willing


10. Fly


1 review for Caterwauling Towards The Light Album by Dusty Wright

  1. Bob Rice (verified owner)

    I met Dusty in 2011 following the release of “If We Never”. In the years since Dusty has shared demos, various mixes, and versions, of nearly every track which appears on “Caterwauling Towrds The Light” with me. I feel priviledged to have been included in a very small group of individuals which has literally witnessed his album … come into the light.

    This album evolved through and from a number of personal expeirences. It is poignant, honest, intospective, and very real. It is Dusty’s best work to date!

    Dusty shared his personal insights and processes in the making of the album with me. I would like to share them with you. ~ Bob Rice

    This album is about my emotional journey over these past two years. ~ Dusty Wright

    Side 1

    1. Fall Out Of Line – This song started out about the homeless, but I realized it could be about anyone who feels displaced, whether physically or emotionally. And it certainly resonated for me given the theme of this record. David Ogilvy provided the background vocals.

    2. Life Is Hard – About my younger brother David who was involved in a horrific motorcycle accident this past summer. He remained in a coma for 7 weeks until he mercifully passed away. He battled many demons in his life making his crash seem inevitable. Got me to examine the history of depression in our family and how I too had become depressed about his passing. Singer/songwriter Martin John Butler helped me write it. One of my favorite tracks on the record. Features Queen Esther and Sonya Hensley on background vocals.

    3. The Way We Left Our Hearts – In some ways another song for my brother and about anyone who understands how some relationships are fraught with traps and how hopeless it can all seem. Features Claire Reilly-Roe on background vocals, Gabriel Handy on classical guitar, and Matt Goeke on cello.

    4. All Revved Up – A song about going nowhere fast and waking up one day to discover that you’ve really been running in place your whole life. That you never “found” your true destiny or legacy. This whole album was really an examination of my life as seen through the eyes of my father and my brother. I’d lost my father the year before my brother. It was a very brutal one-two punch to the heart. And in some ways the first five songs are about my brother David and the second side is about my father Joseph. Drummer Mark Brotter and bassist Pete Hamilton are part of my performing quintet in New York and accompanied me on this track.

    5. Weather This Storm – Yet another song about how fragile life is for all of us, whether it’s an emotional storm between two lovers or between family members. But the song also offers the hope that we can get past the hurdles and hardships. My favorite New York singer/songwriter Jay Stolar sang background vocals. Basic tracks were recorded at my friend Gio Loria’s Silver Lake studio in LA.

    Side 2

    1. We Can Set Sail – So if this were a vinyl album, this would the first track of the second side. It was written about two people who fall together with seemingly nothing in common. And it struck me that was the story of my father and mother meeting and falling in love. My longtime guitarist Jon Bendis played that beautiful chiming guitar part. “And I could grow a garden on your barren land…” That last line of the song, that says it all. It offers hope for anyone who says you can’t make a seemingly impossible situation work.

    2. How Do You Measure A Man? – Written while my father was in hospice and finished after he passed away. I’d been summoned to Florida by my mother and brother after my father had another stroke. I had to make the decision for our family to move him into hospice. The lyrics are straight ahead and self-explanatory. David Lee Waters played the beautifully nuanced slide guitar and Queen Esther provided background vocals.

    3. I Got Lost – Towards the end of my father’s life he had dementia. Anyone who has dealt with this condition knows how crippling it is for everyone around that person. Just how that person is stuck in a world of “gray”. Jon Bendis provided the demented electric guitar part.

    4. I Am Not Willing – This is a rather obscure Moby Grape cover. It was written by Peter Lewis. This is a song I use to perform with my cellist Matt Goeke in our quartet GIANTfingers. When this album was being assembled it took on a whole new meaning. Some people give up on life, on facing the challenges presented to them. For them, it’s easier to throw in the towel. Which leads into the last track on the album…

    5. Fly – I started writing this song after hiking in the mountains near Lake Placid, but when I read a story in a New York paper about a young woman who died by suicide, it became something else. Why do some people soar while other people crash? Is the glass half-full or half-empty? That can certainly depend on one’s emotional health. I know life is far more complex than that, but the song examines that scenario. Why is it that life can be impossible for some people to navigate and so the only way out is to end life and yet for others… the bigger the hurdle to conquer, or mountain to climb, well, they face that challenge with unyielding determination. I wanted to end this record with an offer of hope for anyone feeling trapped. And it also became my own coda for my own emotional situation over these past two years. Basic tracks were recorded at drummer Sammy Merendino’s studio in Harlem and Queen Esther provided background vocals.

    Produced by d. Bindi

    Dusty Wright on vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, harmonica, and percussion with Jon Bendis, Mark Brotter, Martin John Butler, Gabriel Handy, Sonya Hensley, Jerry Krenach, Gio Loria, Sammy Merendino, David Ogilvy, Anton Oppenheimer, Queen Esther, Claire Reilly-Roe, Jay Stolar, and David Lee Waters.

    Mixed by Mr. David Lee. Engineered by Dusty Wright, Martin John Butler, Gio Loria & Sammy Merendino. Recorded at Strauss Park, Two Dog Studio, Silverlight Studio, and Harlem Parlour Recording. All songs written by Dusty Wright and published by PetRock/BMI except “Life Is Hard” by Wright/Butler and “I Am Not Willing” by Peter Lewis. Mastered by Alan Douches for West West Side Music. Layout by Dusty Wright.
    Photography by Hyuna Shin –

    PMCD2006. ©2016 PetRock/BMI. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws. Printed and manufactured in the USA.

Add a review